Under any normal circumstances, getting charged with drunk driving is serious. But when you have a commercial license and you're arrested for a DUI, it can put your entire livelihood at risk. Georgia has strict penalties for drunk driving offenders and failing to take action can result in permanent consequences.
As someone with a commercial driver's license, you are subordinate to both federal regulations and Georgia's traffic laws. This means that if arrested for driving while intoxicated, the punishment you face can be quite severe and life-changing.
What happens if I am arrested for drunk driving?
If convicted of a DUI while driving with a commercial driver's license, you will lose your license for a minimum of one year for a first offense. A second offense results in the permanent loss of your license with no chance of ever having it reinstated.
Additionally, you can be disqualified from possessing a commercial driver's license for:
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above .04 percent
- Driving any vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Refusing to take a BAC test
Along with the loss of your license, you also face added penalties according to Georgia state law. For a first offense, you could incur fines of up to $1,000, alcohol counseling, 40 hours of required community service, and possible imprisonment. A DUI conviction can also permanently tarnish your driving record.
The best way to protect yourself from the repercussions of a DUI conviction is by hiring an aggressive Roswell DUI lawyer. Our firm has extensive experience fighting drunk driving charges and we are deeply committed to the best interests of our clients.
At The Sherman Law Group, we take your case seriously. Get in touch with us today for the defense you need in light of such severe charges.