Top
DUI Penalties

DUI Penalties in GA

Defense for Individuals Facing Penalties for DUI Charges

If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI I Roswell, it is in your best interests to speak with a Roswell DUI attorney immediately after your arrest. Protecting your rights and defending yourself against these charges should be your highest priority at this time. Georgia has strict laws regarding DUI and it is best to hire an experienced attorney that can do everything possible to defend you from these serious charges.


Under Georgia Code 40-6-391, even if this is your first DUI arrest, the penalties will be severe upon conviction, including up to $1,000 in fines, jail time of up to 12 months, 40 hours of community service and court ordered alcohol treatment.


At The Sherman Law Group we provide clients with proven and experienced legal defense for DUI charges. With almost forty years of combined experience, our attorneys have achieved favorable case results in all types of DUI and related offenses. As both a former Assistant Attorney General and Magistrate, our team has the needed experience to fight to pursue a favorable outcome in your case, including getting clients’ charges dropped or achieving a not guilty verdict. If you or a loved one has recently been arrested for a DUI, there are still many options available to you. Please call today for a free consultation.

DUI Lawyer in Roswell

Facing charges for drunk driving can be an extremely overwhelming and frightening experience. With an attorney at your side, you will not have to face those charges alone and you can know that you have a defense lawyer with years of experience on your side fighting for your rights.

If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Georgia, you could be forced to face the following penalties:

  • 10 days to 12 months jail time, 24 hours mandatory
  • 12 months probation
  • Up to one year of license suspension
  • DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program
  • Community service – 40 hours at .08 BAC or higher
  • Community service – 20 hours at below .08 BAC
  • Alcohol evaluation
  • Counseling or treatment
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Increased insurance rates

Second DUI offense:

  • Up to five years of probation
  • Jail time, minimum 72 hours, or 90 days to 12 months
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Driver’s license suspension up to 12 months
  • Community service – mandatory 30 days
  • DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program
  • Treatment
  • Clinical evaluation

Third DUI offense:

  • Up to $5,000 in fines
  • Driver’s license suspension up to 3 years
  • Mandatory jail time 3 months, potential jail time: 1 – 5 years
  • 5 years probation
  • DUI Alcohol Risk Reduction Program
  • 60 days community service
  • Clinical evaluation

A fourth DUI arrest will be charged as a felony offense.


Contact a Roswell DUI attorney if you have been arrested for a DUI and would like to avoid serious penalties.

What Our Clients Say

  • I have utilized all types of attorneys in the past and have never had someone work so hard for me! Thank you! I will refer anyone to your firm!!

    Kevin B.
  • We can't thank you enough. You made a bad situation better. You were all a pleasure to work with. Thank you again!

    Mark V.
  • "My family is forever in your debt. We can't thank you enough for our son's freedom and the ability to finally be able to sleep again at night and have the weight lifted from our shoulders so that we can finally once again look forward to the future."
    Y.L.

Contact Our Offices

Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (678) 712-8561.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.