Roswell First-Time DUI Attorney
First DUI in Georgia
Anyone subjected to a Field Sobriety Test and arrested for DUI for the first time may find the entire process confusing and overwhelming. Understandably, you may have a number of questions about what the future holds in store. A first time DUI is usually charged as a misdemeanor unless there are other offenses involved. The penalties if convicted are much lighter than for repeat offenders, but still are severe. If you are facing a DUI charge, find out what can be done in your defense by talking with a trusted Roswell DUI attorney. We represent drivers throughout Roswell, Alpharetta, Sandy Springs, Johns Creek, Dunwoody, Marietta, Forsyth County, and Cherokee County.
Facing charges for a first DUI in Georgia? Contact us today to start discussing your defense.
Georgia DUI Penalties
Prosecutors and the courts take DUI offenses seriously. A prosecutor’s job is to get convictions. Having a defendant plead guilty means the prosecutor doesn’t have to spend time preparing to go to court. While this may be advantageous to the prosecutor, it doesn’t necessarily work so well for the defendant. Mistakes can be made by law enforcement personnel, which could mean crucial prosecution evidence could be challenged and deemed inadmissible. This could mean the charges could be reduced, or even dropped altogether. An experienced DUI defense lawyer with our firm explores all the possibilities and examines all law enforcement procedures and the circumstances surrounding your arrest to identify weaknesses and flaws which can be challenged.
Penalties for a first time DUI misdemeanor include:
- Fines of $300 to $1,000, plus fees
- Jail time of 10 days to 12 months – minimum mandatory 24 hours
- Community service – minimum 40 hours
- DUI school
- Clinical evaluation and any required treatment
- License suspension of 1 year –work permit may be available after 120 days and completion of certain programs (CDL holders are suspended from driving any commercial vehicle for 1 year)
Our legal team is highly skilled in mounting strong and aggressive defenses against first time DUI charges. We understand that the stakes are high and use our expertise to assist you to obtain a positive outcome. Consult an energetic and proven DUI lawyer by calling The Sherman Law Group.
For skilled assistance with your defense in a first DUI in Georgia, contact a Roswell DUI attorney at our firm.
What Our Clients Say
"I blew a .17 and they got it down in court. They took care of my license too. I would go to them again or recommend them to all my friends."R.N.
I have utilized all types of attorneys in the past and have never had someone work so hard for me! Thank you! I will refer anyone to your firm!!Kevin B.
"My family is forever in your debt. We can't thank you enough for our son's freedom and the ability to finally be able to sleep again at night and have the weight lifted from our shoulders so that we can finally once again look forward to the future."Y.L.
Contact Our Offices
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (678) 712-8561.